Deluxe Digi-Pac 2CD Remastered Edition
Universal / Decca UMC 278 134-1

‘From the Beginning’ was released by Decca on 2 June 1967, following the band’s departure to Immediate and three weeks before the release of ‘Small Faces’, the authorised self-titled Immediate debut LP. Remaining part one of a two-part Small Faces bonanza during that month, ‘From The Beginning’ provided a summation of the previous, action-packed 12 months. Considered the rogue in the Small Faces’ catalogue, it’s clearly of the loveable variety with some great material and performances.

This deluxe edition has been meticulously remastered from the restored original LP production master tape and avoids the sound fluctuations and errors present on previous CD’s. All the single A & B sides from the period are here, including the hits ‘Hey Girl’, ‘My Mind's Eye’, ‘I Can't Make It’ and the classic No.1 ‘All Or Nothing’ plus alternate takes, rare mixes, ten previously unreleased versions and three songs previously unissued on CD. Housed in a colourful eight-panel digi-pac with a lavishly illustrated 24-page booklet containing detailed sleeve notes, full album credits, rare photos and memorabilia, this is the most definitive and best sounding edition ever!


Steve Marriott – Lead Vocals, Lead Guitar, Guitars, Backing Vocals
Ronnie Lane - Bass, Vocals
Kenney Jones - Drums, Percussion
Ian McLagan – Organ, Piano, Backing Vocals

Ronnie – Lead Vocals on ‘Yesterday, Today And Tomorrow’, ‘That Man’, ‘Just Passing’ Mac – Bass Guitar on ‘Show Me The Way’ (take 3 backing track), Chinese Horn on ‘That Man’, Backing Vocals on ‘Sha La La La Lee’

Produced & Arranged by Small Faces
Recorded at IBC Studios, Decca Studios, Olympic Studios
Engineers: Glyn Johns, John Pantry

  1. Runaway
  2. My Mind's Eye
  3. Yesterday, Today And Tomorrow
  4. That Man
  5. My Way Of Giving
  6. Hey Girl
  7. Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me
  8. All Or Nothing
  9. Baby Don't You Do It
  10. Plum Nellie
  11. Sha La La La Lee
  12. You've Really Got A Hold On Me
  13. What'Cha Gonna Do About It
  1. Almost Grown
  2. Understanding
  3. I Can't Dance With You
  4. I Can't Make It
  5. Just Passing
  1. Runaway (alternate mix) (stereo)
  2. That Man (alternate mix) (mono)
  3. Yesterday, Today And Tomorrow (alternate mix) (mono)
  4. My Mind's Eye (alternate mix) (electronically processed stereo)
  5. Picanniny (backing track) (mono)
  6. Hey Girl (alternate version) (mono)
  7. Take This Hurt Off Me (different version) (mono)
  8. Baby Don't You Do It (different version) (mono)
  9. All Or Nothing (alternate mix) (electronically processed stereo)
  10. Understanding (alternate mix) (electronically processed stereo)
  11. Talk To You (take 5 backing track) (mono)
  12. All Our Yesterdays (take 7 backing track) (mono)
  13. (Tell Me) Have You Ever Seen Me (alternate take 2) (mono)
  14. Show Me The Way (take 3 backing track) (mono)
  15. I Can't Make It (take 11 backing track) (mono)
  16. Things Are Going To Get Better (take 14 session version) (stereo)
Available worldwide on Universal
Deluxe Digi-Pac 2CD Remastered Edition